Skip to content

Library Day in the Life, Round 6 : Day 2

January 25, 2011

Tuesday’s set up has been fairly similar to Monday’s. Library school 10-1, study through the afternoon until I start desk duties at 5.30 – 9pm.

After a bit of tube panic (why does it always happen on the day you are going to a new lecture theatre and don’t quite know the way?) I made it to ‘Introduction to Management’ just in time, and once again it was in another basement theatre. Management structures and theory is not all that gripping, but neccessary and makes for some interesting discussions. In the practical we carried on with our imaginary libraries we invented in the first term, in my group we played it safe with an academic library for the Faculty of Arts and Humanities, named’The Brontë Library’. We had an extra student added to our group, who we presented our poster to:

We now have to address the management, budget and recruitment and present our findings in a group portfolio. I always find group work is a tricky when it wasn’t included in my undergraduate degree (English) whatsoever. I find I am weary of sitting back too much and not contributing, or I am too enthusiastic and run away with myself. I am lucky enough to have a group where we are all on the same wavelength and contribute equally.

As an added bonus to the day I was lucky enough to be able to attend (and get a seat!) at Anne Welsh‘s lunctime lecture, as part of the UCL’s Centre for Digital Humanities Painless Introduction programme. The subject was ‘Paper in the Brave New Digital World’ and it covered some material included in the Historical Bibliography module I was unable to take last term, so I was very grateful to get a taster in it. The lecture touched on many interesting ideas and raised some thought provoking questions. I especially liked the idea that it should not be digital vs. paper but digital and paper. I was also intrigued to hear about the Watermark database who’s goal is ‘to store, process and provide watermark data of sources such as books, drawings, letters, prints, etc’ and it’s fascinating! I have definitely spent some of the evening having a play about with it while on the issue desk.

The afternoon was spent submitting my final deadline for January (horray!) and subsequently planning for the next essay (boo) but I cannot stress how important it is to keep on top of the work. Balancing university contact time of 18 hours a week last term, working part time 20 hours a week and all the usual eating and sleeping meant if I didn’t time manage efficiently then it could have led to an all nighter (something which I haven’t attempted since being an undergrad. and don’t think my body clock would thank me for these days) and this term I am commitment to not letting things fall behind.

This evening is once again the desk shift, surprisingly busy for a Tuesday which means this blog writing has taken longer than it should have done! Issuing, returning, emailing and ‘fetching’ where we run along and go find the things the members don’t want to. And this concludes Day 2.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 8:50 pm

    Hi Sarah

    Glad you enjoyed the Painless Intro at lunchtime, and well done on getting a seat!

    Watermarks are brilliant, and you probably have a few good specimens in the London Library. Mechanised papermaking took off in the mid-late 18th century, so you’re looking for paper from 1300s-mid-1700s usually.

    Anne

    • January 27, 2011 10:16 pm

      I’ll have a word with our conservator and see if she recalls any good ones. I think it’s time for a root around in the safe…
      Sarah

Leave a Reply

