Skip to content

Library Day in the Life, Round 6: Day 4

January 27, 2011

Today I was in uni all day, which was fairly typical for last term, but there is so little contact time this term it felt like a very long day.

On the other hand it was brilliant to catch up with everyone, hear how placements went, throw a few ideas around about dissertations and case studies and generally feel a sense of community between everyone. Hearing about what is required for our dissertation was great, as we haven’t addressed this before. It is a 15,000 word limit which seems scarier than my undergraduate dissertation but in reality will be easily achieved if I pick a good subject. I am now jotting down ideas and seeing how feasible some of these are and whether there will be sufficient studies and readings to base the topic on.

Similarly we heard about our case studies, which will be 3,000 words, and is just as exciting to me. I love a good case study! I have two ideas that I need to sketch out and see which will suit me more. Time wise one idea may be quite a big undertaking and I just don’t know if I’ll be able to, but it will probably be more rewarding.

After a lovely lunch we had an extra management lecture:

Those three words just sound a bit grim and soul-destroying but they were actually quite eye-opening. The lecture was structured with two tasks which made for interesting observations into project management and group dynamics and 3 hours went by really quickly.

A few of us then went to the pub for a well deserved glass of wine. Unfortunately some of the pub outings last term happened on a Tuesday evening, when I work, so it was ace to go relax and hang out with the lovely bunch of fellow students.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

