Skip to content

Ravensbourne

April 11, 2011

From mid-March I’ve been working casually for Ravensbourne, previously known as Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication. It moved campus’ late 2010 to the new site, next to the 02 arena in North Greenwich. The college is fairly close to my flat and not having to get the tube at rush-hour is great and the atmosphere of the college is laid-back yet quite motivating. While working here I have found little similarities to the academic library I worked in previously, which I’m glad because it is important to understand all academic libraries aren’t the same. To me they seemed to get grouped into one idea of ‘an academic library’ which isn’t the case.

The building itself is stunning, not my favorite style or architecture, but it is in stark contrast my other place of work The London Library which is the epitome of traditional. It was purpose built for the college and five years in the making. The library has gone from eight members of staff down to two, and it is still very much finding its feet.

So far I have been helping clear up the internal drives, suppress records for stock which hasn’t quite made it over from the old campus, catalogue dvds and books, creating training documentation for different tasks on the LMS, generating a database for the BA dissertations they hold and getting to grips with a library post-RFID implementation. When I worked at Adsetts Centre for Sheffield Hallam I left just as the library was installing RFID which was a shame because it would have been great to have seen the benefits and drawbacks to the system. The London Library won’t be adopting RFID anytime soon so I’m glad I am having a bit more hands on experience of it.

(Note: there is a lot of shelving to do at the moment due to one of the other staff members being on paternity leave, it’s not usually this bad!)

Classic ‘my desk’ shot:

And here’s for my favourite book in the library so far:

I don’t know what is quite romantic about this:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 1:19 pm

    ‘Romantic Knitwear’ would make a brilliant submission for Awful Library Books. It has a blog and a Facebook page. I’d love to find a book ‘naff’ enough to submit!

    • May 14, 2011 9:29 am

      I know! I was thinking the exact same thing this week, when I get around to it I’ll definitely be emailing them.

Leave a Reply

