Skip to content

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times

June 20, 2011

According to Dickens it should therefore be the age of wisdom and foolishness but it really isn’t. I’m at that point where I’m just fed up. Fed. Up. I’m sure everyone gets to this stage at one point or another but at the moment it’s my turn. The MA teaching finished months ago, summer seems to have come and gone already (come baaaaack) and serious job applications have been piling up. Although I’ve been working full time for awhile now, three part time jobs has meant I haven’t had much time to myself in the past two or three months and it’s really taking its toll on me.  Last weekend I was fortunate enough to go to a family wedding and see my loved ones but even that was a big hassle: unpaid leave as I’m on a casual contract, packing and unpacking, time I should technically be spending on my dissertation etc. but I supressed all these thoughts and just had a good time. It has really made me reflect on how little time I’ve had this year though.

There has been many, many, many posts which give a great insight to the library MA, how its been for them and being actively involved on twitter has really helped my MA experience. Seeing that a handful of other people are dedicating their Sundays to #libraryschoolsunday and hearing that other people have hit that “arrrrghhh” brick wall point makes me feel less like it’s just me going through it all. As much as choosing the right course and location is important it is just as, if not more so, important to make sure you’re in a position once you start where you can look after number one. The biggest thing I would stress is that if you decide to do the course full time you’ll have to make sure you become pretty organised, tired, dedicated and anti-social.

Hopefully things will perk up soon, I’ll get into the swing of my dissertation and job stuff should be sorted within the next week. Maybe then I’ll have a weight off my shoulders, book a holiday and see the light at the end of the tunnel. Despite having a bit of a downer at the moment I am glad I have done the course though. From my careers session way back in 2006 where my supervisor organsied some work experience in the university library all the way to the present day and five libraries later, I am glad the course has cemented my belief this is the profession for me. I’d just like a few days worth of sleep in the meantime!

I’ll finish on a high though, a friend sent me this video to make me smile. It definitely does.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 8:51 pm

    I predict this: you’ll be offered a job very soon!!!

  2. theatregrad permalink
    June 20, 2011 8:59 pm

    “you’ll have to make sure you become pretty organised, tired, dedicated and anti-social.”

    I couldn’t agree more…

    • June 20, 2011 9:37 pm

      If I had to give a speech at graduation it would go something like this: “I’d like to dedicate this MA to Grey’s Anatomy and CSI”

  3. Leanne permalink
    June 23, 2011 3:18 pm

    This sums up how I felt this time last year. It will pay off and you will have your dream library job very soon. Keep going, the light at the end is gradually getting brighter!

    • June 30, 2011 8:18 am

      Thanks Leanne, turns out it has 🙂 just got to do this blasted dissertation now eek. Cake soon? I’ve found an ace place for afetr work coffee and cake!

  4. July 4, 2011 12:33 pm

    Oh god, I remember feeling exactly like this! My advice: don’t try to do too much else while you’re working on your dissertation (I did mine while working full time, volunteering on several committees and going to a couple of networking thingies a week. The day after I handed in, I suddenly found I couldn’t stand up without the world going grey and had to spend a week in bed recovering. Do not recommend!!). Second piece of advice: book a holiday NOW, for a week or two after your hand in date. Nothing like having something to look forward to to make it all a bit easier!

    • July 13, 2011 10:59 am

      I have definitely taken this advice, booked some time off work a few weeks before it’s due in and for some time after. Cleared the diary of any possible social activities too (I’m going to prefer sleep to people right?) Thank you!

  5. father figure permalink
    July 19, 2011 8:02 pm

    Proud of you !!
    From your stressed parents xx

Leave a Reply

