Skip to content

Result!

June 29, 2011

Flickr CC image by tsuacctnt

I am pleased to announce I am the new Digital Assets Assistant at Ravensbourne! It has been a long process from hearing the vacancy would come up, way back in April, to finally hearing today I was successful but it has completely been worth the wait. I started here as a casual member of staff in the library (sorry, Study Zone) in March and shortly after somebody left and their position was made open. This was the first job I’ve ever gone for which was an internal vacancy, which was a completely different experience than that of applying for a job in a normal way, but it was interesting.

I’m not too fond of the job title, or that of the library name, I always find “Study Zone” or “LRC” funny titles as everyone still refers to them as “the library” but what’s in a name right? I’ll be liasing with tutors to help put material on the VLE, I get to do my beloved cataloguing, library induction sessions for students at the start of term and run sessions on e-resources and how to get the best out of them. Basically, there is a lot to do! There is 1,500 students and only two members of staff in the library. Management want the focus of the library to be on the digital, hence the job title, and hopefully we’ll be able to introduce some new services that we currently don’t offer.

It feels great to know that the qualification and all my hard work has finally paid off. Along with moving house, applying for the job and doing my dissertation I’ve felt that everything has been so full on and overwhelming but hopefully this good news will mean a more settled working week and more time for things that keep me happy. I can now say goodbye to the three part time jobs and focus on the one!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 3:42 pm

    This is amazing news, congrats! The role sounds fantastic.

    The job title might not be ideal, but I think it’s interesting and promising that it straight away suggests a greater emphasis on digital literacies and new technologies/distribution methods.

  2. June 29, 2011 3:53 pm

    Congratulations Sarah! That’s fantastic news, well done.

  3. June 29, 2011 4:01 pm

    Hooray! I’m so pleased all your hard work has paid off so quickly. I hope you settle into the role quickly. It sounds very exciting!

  4. Adrienne Cooper permalink
    June 29, 2011 7:22 pm

    Fantastic news, Sarah! And what an exciting job! Congratulations.

  5. June 30, 2011 10:11 am

    Well done Sarah – looking forward to hearing more about how you get on 🙂

  6. June 30, 2011 5:58 pm

    Congratulations Sarah – you really deserve this after your busy year! I know everyone will really miss you at the London Library though.

  7. July 1, 2011 10:35 am

    Well done!

  8. father figure permalink
    July 19, 2011 8:07 pm

    Time for a holiday, Us not you !! x

Trackbacks

  1. Library Day in the Life 7 – Monday |

Leave a Reply

